Monday, October 19, 2009

Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Corn Free Rice Krispy Treats

Rice Krispies, a favorite treat for many, but what do you do if you're gluten and corn free? Well I got a chance to try out two new products today: Rice Twice by Erewhon, and Ricemellow, a marshmallow substitute, great for those who are gluten free, dairy free, and oh yes- corn free! Last year I went through an extensive amount of work, but had fun in the kitchen, making my own marshmallows. I'm glad to see there is a product such as this on the market.

The verdict of my creation, which I did all by feel, meaning I have to remind myself to write down how much of each ingredient I used, is the following:

From the one who is not gluten free, Mike, says "A little greasy, a little sticky, the taste is right on, but the texture needs a little work."

From the one who is gluten free, me, I said "Yeah I would agree about the greasy/stickiness, slightly more greasy than a regular rice krispy treat, but not to the point of detouring me from eating them. The taste was great, a little on the sweet side, I think from the sweetness of the cereal I used. And as for the texture, I could have smooshed them together a little harder so they were more dense, but again the cereal is a different shape and size than rice krisipies, so of course it's going to a little different."

Overall we give them a B +. Have your hand at it and see what you think:

Ingredients
5 cups of Gluten Free Rice Cereal (I used Rice Twice by Erewhon)
1 10oz container of Ricemellow
1 1/2 to 2 Tbsp butter spread (Earth Balance makes both a soy and soy-free variety)

Directions
1. Measure out cereal into large mixing bowl.
2. Grease an 8 X 8 pan.
3. Melt butter spread in saucepan on medium-low.
4. Once melted, add in entire container of Ricemellow and stir continuously.
5. When heated through pour over the cereal and mix quickly.
6. Press into the baking pan.
7. Let cool, cut, and enjoy!

2 comments:

Laura said...

This is listed as corn-free, but Earth Balance is not corn-free. Anyone have any suggestions for GF, Dairy-free, and corn-free butter substitute?

Debbie said...

Earth balance butter does have an ingredient derived from corn, but the company has said that most of the corn protein that people are allergic to is removed by the time the product is made. Earth balance is the closest thing to corn free/dairy free butter there is.